Felony DUI charges lead to strong penalties in Alaska

Felony DUI charges in Alaska can result if a motorist has three or more DUI convictions within a ten year period.

There are many people in Alaska who have been arrested for DUI. They may have not realized that they were close to the legal limit, yet found themselves in serious trouble after being stopped by law enforcement. In some situations, these individuals decided to plead guilty to the charges because they wanted to put the matter behind them as quickly as possible. They never realized how much trouble they could be causing themselves in the future.

Alaska is one of several states that allow prosecutors to bring felony charges against motorists who have three or more DUI convictions within a ten-year period. Recently, a motorist was arrested after causing a three-vehicle crash in Palmer. When officers examined the man after the crash, they determined that signs of impairment were present. The man was arrested at the scene and faced a host of charges, including felony DUI, as he had at least two other additional DUI convictions within the past ten years.

The laws concerning Felony DUI in Alaska list substantial penalties for those who are convicted, including:

  • At least 120 days in jail, with a maximum of 360 days, depending upon the number of arrests of the offender
  • A mandatory fine of at least $10,000
  • An order to submit to drug and alcohol evaluation
  • If the incident happened in a commercial vehicle, the permanent loss of the commercial driver's license
  • The permanent revocation of driving privileges

It is possible for some felony offenders to regain their license, but, this happens in very limited circumstances. These individuals must wait ten years before even applying to get their driving privileges back, and must meet certain conditions that will depend upon their specific situation. If the licenses are granted, these motorists will be required to have an ignition interlock devices installed for five years.

If you have been arrested for drunk driving, take these charges seriously. Even a first-offense DUI carries strong penalties in Alaska. If you do not aggressively fight these charges, you could be facing even stronger punishments for later convictions.

Speak to an experienced criminal defense attorney about the options that are available to you. An attorney can review your situation to determine if there are defenses that could help you reduce the charges you are facing, and also discuss possible plea arrangements that may allow you to keep your license.

In the event that your case goes to trial, it is essential to have someone on your side who understands how to attack the evidence of the prosecution. If you do not take action to protect your rights, you could make a decision that significantly jeopardizes your freedom and driving privileges.