Common questions about driving under the influence in Alaska

Drivers who are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in Alaska should be aware of the penalties associated with this offense.

In Alaska, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentrate level of 0.08 or higher. While most drivers realize that 0.08 is the legal BAC limit, many still do not understand what occurs after a DUI arrest/conviction.

Are there mandatory minimum DUI penalties?

Mandatory minimum DUI penalties do exist, and the severity depends on the number of prior offenses. For example, drivers who are convicted for driving under the influence of alcohol for the first time have to spend a minimum of 72 consecutive hours in jail and pay a minimum fine of $1,500, along with other penalties.

Comparatively, drivers who receive a third DUI charge can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony DUI. For a misdemeanor conviction, jail time is a minimum of 60 days and the minimum fine is $4,000. For a felony conviction, the minimum jail time is 120 days and the minimum fine is $10,000. Whether a third or subsequent DUI offense is considered a misdemeanor or a felony depends on when the prior convictions happened. Just because a person is charged with DUI doesn't mean he/she will be convicted. Always consult with a lawyer with this or other serious legal issues.

Can drivers still operate a vehicle after being charged with a DUI?

Sometimes, after being charged with DUI, a temporary license to continue driving can be granted. Consult a lawyer within seven calendar days of being arrested to learn how.

Can a lawyer help?

Drivers who are arrested for driving under the influence in Alaska, whether or not it is their first time, suffer anxiety about what will occur following the arrest and how a possible conviction will affect their future. An experienced DUI attorney will always help you in this critical situation. The lawyers with the Law Offices of Dan Allan & Associates have combined over 40 years of successful DUI defense experience. When you retain our office for a reasonable fee the lawyer not only advises you regarding your rights, but actively defends your case by requesting any bail reviews (sometimes necessary to get you out of jail while the case is pending); requests a DMV hearing (and temporary license) if you retain us within 7 calendar days of the arrest; will make all court appearances for you (in misdemeanor DUI cases you can waive your personal appearance at most hearings if you have legal representation, thus allowing you to stay on the job, attend college or attend other events); our experienced lawyers will negotiate with the prosecutor regarding your case; will also research and review applicable police reports, video and audio as well as any witness statements and other possible evidence. The experienced lawyers at the Law Offices of Dan Allan & Associates will also analyze your case to determine whether you have valid defenses which can be asserted at a jury trial. You will be aggressively represented and defended throughout the case. Call 1-907-344-8851 to speak to the lawyer.